What not to do when ‘Puck’ing a cold drip.

Knowing my interest in cold drip coffee, some friends gave me a Puck Puck a year ago. I did not get a chance to test it out until today. Just the other day, I had decided to throw out the water bottle where I had cut the base, thinking that I no longer needed it now that I have Puck Puck.

In one year that I had left the gadget in storage, the blue colour had become a little discoloured. There were now streaks of white across the blue. Since I had a water bottle on hand, I fitted it onto Puck. It fitted well. After removing the water bottle again, I proceeded to chill it. After that, I attached it onto Puck, turned it upside down and slit the base of the bottle that is now on top. Then, I made my first mistake. I did not remove the blue filter. I proceeded to adjust the drip, or I should say I tried to adjust the drip but I could not get it to drip. Instead, water just flowed down the sides, both inside and outside. This is what happens when one does not watch videos on how to use Puck Puck before attempting to use it.

Taking it to the sink to better find the correct drip rate, I soon lost all the water in the bottle. But not to worry, I had gotten the water container version since I was not sure if I wanted to keep buying Evian or Volvic water bottles for drip coffee and also, in case I did not have a water bottle on hand that would fit.

A common brand of mineral water being used with Puck.

The container version

I proceeded to fill up the container and added some ice. I still could not adjust the drip and water just flowed out through the side in a small stream instead. As you can see from the picture, the Aeropress container started filling up with water and I had to stop the drip.

Puck with a bandana!

Well, water was not just flowing inside the Aeropress, it was also coming out through the air holes and flowing out on the outside of the Aeropress. I rolled a piece of paper towel and wrapped it around the outside to prevent the water from flowing into the jug from the outside!

After trying to figure out what the problem was, I decided to remove the filter. In a YouTube video, I saw that this piece of plastic was placed inside the Aeropress on top of the coffee where I had placed a second piece of filter paper. Oops, my bad! No wonder the water was flowing down the sides and not the middle.

This presumably is supposed to help the water spread more widely and evenly. The water started dripping from the middle after I removed this. Duh!

After that, the water started to drip from the middle, and then flowed, and then dripped. This sequence would repeat itself. I would get a consistent drip, then it would stop and suddenly there would be a little stream of water, and then it would drip again. By the time, the water from the container emptied, I had cold immersion coffee instead.

The next day, I decided to try using Puck Puck again after watching a video on YouTube. I followed the steps and the blue filter went into the Aeropress as it should. The water dripped as it should though I wished it was more consistent. Considering that this is not an expensive piece of equipment, I decided that the drip was acceptable. I would probably cover the top container and the bottom, leaving the drip bit visible so that I can keep the ice water and cold coffee cold for as long as I could, being in a temperate climate country. But be careful when throwing out the used grounds that the blue filter is not accidentally thrown out as well. Do watch videos – there are several on Youtube – on how to use Puck Puck before you start using yours!

Leave a comment