Bagus Makan: In search of Penang Kuay Teow

This was tough. Everywhere I went, there was Char Kuay Teow. My problem was I did not know which one was the real Penang Char Kuay Teow. So I tried it at several places.

20140528-124453-45893673.jpg

This came close but it was a tad too spicy. And I did not like the Chinese sausage bits in it. I know that they are found in char kuay teow but I did not think that Penang Char Kuay Teow had them. Perhaps I am mistaken. Otherwise, it was good.

20140528-124452-45892067.jpg

This was quite clearly not Penang Char Kuay Teow. It was a little too wet and I think the person asked me if I wanted it more towards the KL version of Hokkien noodles and I said, ‘yes’, which was a mistake. Oh well, at least it wasn’t spicy but it kind of ended up being neither here nor there. It was not char kuay teow nor was it Hokkien fried noodles. It still tasted good though and it wasn’t overly oily.

20140528-124452-45892875.jpg

This was attempt number three. It was closer to the first one and it too came with Chinese sausage and was spicy but not as spicy as the first one. It was just as oily.

So of the three, the first and third ones were the closest I came to having Penang Char Kuay Teow. One will have to throw caution to the wind and forget about counting calories and such. Char Kuay Teow is oily, spicy and ‘heaty’, with a lot of wok hei or fragrance that comes from frying the noodles in a wok over high flames.

Leave a Reply

