Bagus Makan: Penang Assam Laksa

This was also on my must eat list. I happened to see this at a hawker stall in Tanjung Bungah and I was very pleased I found it. I like Penang Assam Laksa because it is not made of coconut milk and hence it is not threatening, health-wise, and there is a lot of vegetables and fish in the gravy. I am pretty sure that the calories in a bowl of Assam Laksa is a lot lower than a bowl of say Singapore laksa which uses quite a bit of coconut milk.

20140523-210117-75677361.jpg

Penang Assam Laksa. There were enough vegetables and flaked fish in the meal. The goodness is in the prawn paste which is served separately in a spoon.

20140523-210241-75761040.jpg

The white rice noodles are fatter here than in other places where I’ve asked for thick rice noodles with my noodles. Fortunately, it was not overly spicy. Happy belly.

Penang laksa is found everywhere in Penang.

Leave a Reply

