Chinese Belly series: Shanghai in HK

I have come to the conclusion that I am not really able to differentiate between Cantonese and Shanghainese food. We went to a Shanghainese restaurant tonight but the food seemed rather Cantonese to me. Or perhaps being a Shanghainese restaurant in Hong Kong, it is inevitable that Cantonese food is also served, and not all the food in a Shanghai restaurant is Shanghainese.

20140422-182217.jpg

Pork with black fungus.

20140422-182210.jpg

Stir-fried Spinach.

20140422-182229.jpg

Steamed buns or xiao long pau

20140422-182235.jpg

Fried crispy beancurd skin with filling on the inside. This was a little too oily.

20140422-182244.jpg

The food was so-so but the service was similar to service in other Hong Kong restaurants, which could be improved. If the service was better, I am quite sure the food would also taste better.

Thank you, P, A and J, for bringing me around. Next time, I will visit when it is not a long weekend in Hong Kong and I will remember to bring a list of must try food with me.

Golden Shanghai Cuisine Restaurant, Shop no. 119, L1, Citygate Outlets, Tung Chung, Hong Kong.

Leave a Reply

