Omakase indeed!

The word ‘omakase’ in Japanese means to leave it to the chef. They say you can’t judge a book by its cover, no more than you can judge a burger by its price. It was helpful that I was treated to dinner here so even though I balked at the price, I still got to try the food.

Verdict? Smitten at first bite! The secret was in their homemade beef patties which were so juicy the juice flowed out when bitten into. It reminded me of juice-dripping, finger-licking good American burgers in the US which was the inspiration behind Omakase Burger. One even gets to choose how rare or well done you want the patty to be.

The other item I loved was the truffle fries. The fragrance of the oil made the fries taste really good! We loved them so much that we had seconds. We had seconds for the burgers too as they were smaller than American-sized burgers and closer to Japanese burger sizes. Next time, I’d probably order my burger with an extra patty like in an ‘upsize’.

Curious to know what truffle in truffle fries actually is, I googled it and to my great surprise, truffle fries seemed to be everywhere in restaurants in Singapore. Pardon my ignorance but this fungi, yes truffle is a fungi, has been around and truffle oil has been used for cooking for a while now. And I only discovered it now?! I’m going to make a beeline for this oil for my homemade fries now.

So how does a homegrown self-service restaurant carve a niche for itself selling pricey fastfood-type food? The size of the burger was no larger than what Freshness Burger used to serve. Freshness Burger is a Japanese chain that served healthier burgers at slightly higher prices. It has since closed down. Omakase Burger, on the other hand, prices their burgers at almost twice the price of unhealthy fastfood burgers, and so far it is gaining a steady following, enough for it to open a second outlet in Wisma Atria, Orchard. The secret lies in their hearty homemade USDA grade ‘smashed’ beef patties. Their buns were nice and soft and their fruit drinks were the real deal. This ‘fastfood’ meal did NOT have me reaching for water to gulp down, which is a common experience for most other fastfoods due to the high MSG content in such foods. This is my litmus test for good quality food and it passed the test.

The chef did good.

Omakase Burger, Wisma Atria, 435 Orchard Road, #01-02/03/37-41, Singapore 238877. The first outlet is at the Turf Club.

Ultimate Burger! Both bun and patty were awesome. They were awesome for all the burgers. If only the size was awesome as well…

20140506-035132.jpg

This burger came with Applewood smoked bacon. It was the Applewood that caught my attention as the only Applewood I know is in the US. I don’t think I could tell the difference whether it was smoked with Applewood or fried just as it is.

20140506-035142.jpg

The juice drinks were made of real fruit juice. Nice.

One thought on “Omakase indeed!

  1. Pingback: Burp at Berg’s! | Sudah makan? Have you eaten?

Leave a Reply

