An old staple!

I never imagined I would have a favourite chicken rice stall in Singapore — chicken rice is very common in Singapore — but I think I may have found one at the Kovan hawker centre. Standing in line to order while the stall assistant packed ten packs for the customer before me, I struck up a conversation with a Filipino helper who really liked the food and had a lot of good things to say about the taste. I ordered the smallest available while she ordered the largest as it was that good.

Tucking into the hot fragrant chicken rice was nice on a cold, wet, rainy day. The portion was a little more generous compared to other stalls and the soup was pretty authentic – clear, chicken soup goodness. The stall also had an A rating for hygiene and was well run. It was only when I was going back to take a picture of the stall that I noticed the accolades and reviews on the stall by the different magazines and newspapers. A quick check on two other chicken rice stalls did not show any reviews on theirs. Located towards the back of the hawker centre, this was the best of the lot! I think I’ve found my value-for-money chicken rice stall.

Later, I found out that this is a franchise where the stalls are located mainly in hawker centres.

20131209-094849.jpg

For $2.50, the amount of chicken was more than some of the other stalls I have been to and the soup was good too. This chicken rice may be the best around yet.

Tong Fong Fatt Hainanese Boneless Chicken Rice, 209 Hougang Street 21, #01-49 Kovan Hougang Market and Food Centre, S530209.

20131209-095036.jpg

This stall proudly displays the heads and neck bones of the chicken to show how many chickens they have sold that day.

 

Leave a Reply

