A Connoisseur’s Place

http://www.dictionary.com explains the definition of ‘connoiseur’ as follows.
– a person who is especially competent to pass critical judgments in an art, particularly one of the fine arts, or in matters of taste: a connoisseur of modern art.
– a discerning judge of the best in any field: a connoisseur of horses.

In this case, I’d put the last sentence as ‘a connoisseur of coffee’ rather than ‘horses’. This place serves fine coffee and has even managed to transform some of their offerings into works of art. For example the dessert drinks are served in curved glasses and they do non-traditional (or are they mainstream now?) cakes like goma (sesame seed) cheesecake. They do a nice glass of Azuki (red beans) coffee which has inspired my own homemade version. The number of outlets has also increased steadily over the years and so has their coffee offerings. The company also supports the Arts, true to the meaning of connoiseur.

This is one of my favourite coffee places. I have been trying to be a member of this place for a while now but have not succeeded as I have not been able to spend $80 on one bill to get the membership. I must get more folks to join me so I can hit that amount in one bill and get my member’s discount.

There are about 31 outlets throughout Singapore now. The cafes are known as cafe boutiques. The ones I’ve visited are at Funan Centre, Great World City, PoMo, ION Orchard, International Building, Wisma Atria and Changi Airport (Terminal 3). I’ve put down three of the outlets here.

TCC, 435 Orchard Rd #02-18 Wisma Atria, S238877. Tel: 6733 6597. (Most pleasant dining experience in terms of quality of food though I have only visited this place once.)

TCC, 1 Selegie Road #01-02 & #02-25 PoMo, S188306. Tel: 6338 0520. (Good ambience and not so crowded usually. This place is usually frequented by students due to their proximity to the Arts schools in the area.)

TCC, 65 Airport Boulevard #01-22 Terminal 3 Arrival Hall, S819663. Tel: 6214 0680. (Most frequented)

The food pictures here are from several visits, in case anyone thinks I ate so much at one go! I have also featured one of the outlets in an earlier review titled “Three Dessert Drinks“. Here, I talk a little bit more about their food, coffee and desserts.

20130601-152651.jpg

20130601-152306.jpg

Seafood baked rice. The first time I had this, it tasted heavenly. I was also really hungry.

Anise seed and honey coffee. Light and good on the first sip. After that, the honey overpowered the coffee but it was still good. I thought it was quite creative of them to serve anise seed in this way.

Meet Zestiny! Doesn’t this look like a piece of art? After this, live your life with zest as that is your destiny… or something like that. Like most desserts, this was sweet. But the pistachio nuts were a nice touch and the lemon added a zing to the cake.

Close up shot of Zestiny!

Azuki (red beans) coffee which is available hot or cold. This inspired my own homemade version of it.

Ham and cheese, avocado sandwich. I am not a fan of processed food but I settled on this for a light meal.

Smoked salmon and apple salad.

Shrooms Bite. A nice, light snack.

Kuro Goma (sesame seed) cheesecake

Leave a Reply

