Yong Tau Foo

This was a trip that resulted in a lot of self-discovery. Ampang Yong Tau Foo is something that I used to eat many years ago. It is tofu and fish paste stuffed into different vegetables, deep-fried and then served with yellow noodles or rice and sauce. I had actually forgotten the taste of this dish until I ordered it today. In Singapore, I have become so used to tofu which are cooked in soup and served as a soup as that is how I usually order my tofu, instead of deep-fried and served with sauce. But this dish has gained popularity and many travel to Ampang in Malaysia to eat this type of yong tau foo. Ampang is a place near Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, and this style of making and cooking tofu hails from there.

The fish paste was really authentic as one could taste the fish in it. The paste stuffed in all the vegetables had the same consistency. They were all really good. The deep fried wanton and tofu skin were nice and crispy. All this with rice, for $4.50. Actual Ampang Yong Tau Foo though has minced pork mixed in with the fish paste and are fried together.

There are two stalls here, right next to each other. One has a lot of certificates. The one I went to did not. Both are Hakka Ampang Yong Tau Foo. Apparently they are both related.

Hakka Ampang Yong Tau Foo, at 928 Upper Thomson Road, Singapore 787121.

Their iced tea was good.

A dish of yong tau foo. There is watercress, tofu stuffed with fish paste, wanton and vegetables like brinjal and bittergourd stuffed with fish paste. Except for the ngo hiang which I didn’t really like, the rest were really good. No marks though for their presentation which was virtually non-existent. I should have rearranged the food before I took the picture. Oh well.

I took a picture of the stall as there were two and this was the one I went to — the one without the media and review accolades.

Leave a Reply

