Honey spiced coffee

I usually go for coffee in its pure form. I don’t take it with flavours usually. But this time I decided to try the coffee with honey and anise seed. It was love at first sip and perhaps second. After that, the honey seemed to overwhelm the coffee. The anise seed spice was a nice addition though. This coffee was a little different and all natural, as opposed to coffee with flavoured syrup. I am not sure if it would have tasted better with less honey or perhaps a slightly more acidic coffee. This was new to the menu and it was certainly worth the try. I could have drunk the coffee without any milk as the coffee itself was quite light.

For a meal, I ordered the seafood gratin. I am used to baked rice that tended to be dry. This turned out to be quite moist to the point of being a little wet. I actually do not know whether baked rice should be dry or wet but it tasted fine and so I was not bothered by it. The cheese was nicely glazed on top of the rice. It was not too much nor too cheesy. There were a lot of prawns in it and not much of other seafood. It would have been nice if they had added more clams and perhaps some fish. After all, it is called seafood gratin and not just prawns. If I order this dish again, I might make a request to the kitchen for slightly more variety in their seafood.

The bonus was the 15% discount which they offered for certain credit card holders which I am very happy about. Food prices have gone up for this restaurant and the discount was very much welcomed.

The Connoisseur Concerto, 435 Orchard Road, #02-18 Wisma Atria Shopping Centre, Singapore. Tel: 67336597.

Coffee is sweet, my love

Seafood gratin

TCC Serviette

Zesta cheesecake. It had a dash of lemon in it.

Leave a Reply

